jim steveson. [Portraiture – Richard Brilliant.]

;l,

An American illustrator and author of over 100 children’s books. I’ve seen his work plenty of time but before reading Richard Brilliant’s portraiture book I would have never thought about Jim Steveson’s work as portraiture. Jim Steveson explored Artifical self-portrait with his New Yorker cartoon and reading up on his concepts was fascinating and really made me think about my own work.

I’m working with portraits but I don’t give my work a face?

portrait
ˈpɔːtrət,ˈpɔːtreɪt/
noun
plural noun: portraits
1. a painting, drawing, photograph, or engraving of a person, especially one depicting only the face or head and shoulders.

When looking at the actual detention it clearly says I am not working with portraits at all… It’s interesting to think that my whole concept isn’t actually factually correct?

 

One thought on “jim steveson. [Portraiture – Richard Brilliant.]”

Leave a Reply

