Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam.

Self-Portrait in Front of the Easel, 1888.

The Van Gogh museum was one of the last places I thought I’d be getting inspiration and I’m not 100% sure what I’ve been inspired by but after walking out of the gift shop something clicked.

With everything I’ve seen on my trip to Amsterdam, I really didn’t see getting any inspiration from Van Gogh’s work but I left wanting to get back to Cardiff and get on with my work.

[pk[p[pk.png

I’ve never been that impressed by Van Gogh’s work but after making my way through his work and reading about his life, my outlook on his work really started to chance. When learning more about his deteriorating mental health and death,  it’s making me wonder about incorporating mental health into my work.

If you hear a voice within you say ‘you cannot paint,’ then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced. – Vincent van Gogh.

I’ve been thinking about using myself within my portraits but I’m not sure if I want to take that step.

One thought on “Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam.”

Leave a Reply

